Echo 2017: estos son los ganadores y los excitantes

Echo 2017: these are the winners and the exciting ones

Echo 2017: these are the winners and the exciting ones

Musical award

At this year’s Echo awards ceremony, various musicians were able to win multiple times. Udo Lindenberg, who of course appeared on the red carpet with his signature cigar, went home with three echoes. The Brit Rag’n’Bone Man, the newcomers and the indie pop band AnnenMayKantereit from Cologne were happy with two awards each. We have an overview of the winners for you. VOX will broadcast the award this Friday at 8:15 p.m.

Producer Award, International Pop Artist & Album of the Year: Udo Lindenberg was in his element at the Echo Awards and even danced a bit for joy on his way to the stage. “Now I am honestly dumbfounded. Now I’m really knocked out, “said the panic rocker and, in the end, he enjoyed his work again:” Others retire and we keep pushing. “

Udo Lindenberg even won three awards in total.

The moderators: Unfortunately, a lot of fun.

The 2017 Echo was moderated by Sasha and Xavier Naidoo, who at the start of the event raved about a song specially composed for the Echo, but failed miserably at moderation. Trying to sound too hilarious and funny backfired. A small blow at the Eurovision Song Contest, in which Xavier Naidoo was supposed to represent Germany, the singer could not resist. At least he was present at an event that started with an “E,” he said at the event in the Berlin showrooms.

Campino defends himself against Böhmermann’s criticism

Campino accepted the award in the category of social commitment for “Viva con agua”.

As in the previous year, when the controversial German rock band Frei.Wild, accused of spreading right-wing ideas in their texts, received an echo in the Rock / National Alternative category, some riots were also inevitable this year. Jan Böhmermann took care of this and posted a video on the Youtube page of his show “Neo Magazin Royale” shortly before the award ceremony on Thursday evening in Berlin. The subject of his story: German pop music as “soulless commercial shit” honored at the Echo. We ask a few stars for their opinion. Campino, singer of Toten Hosen, ventured a little on stage before Böhmermann’s statements: “It is better not to be great than an idiot who cannot contribute constructively.”

Highlights: The Rag’n’Bone and Linkin Park performances

But there were also many wonderful moments, for example the appearance of the British singer Rag’n’Bone Man, who not only presented his hit “Human” in the big band version, but also two echoes in the categories of artist and newcomer. Could dust off internationally. The performances of Linkin Park and Beth Dito also created a good mood. Marius Müller-Westernhagen received an echo of his life’s work from the laudator Olli Dietrich and was visibly happy about it. He also performed his goosebumps song “Freedom,” which can also be seen as a political statement due to the current hot spots in the world. Somehow predictable, but probably very surprising to the band itself, were the echoes of the Hamburg hip-hop band Beginner in the Hip-Hop / Urban National and Critics Prize National categories. Last year, the band released their first studio album in nearly 14 years with “Advanced Chemistry.”

All winners at a glance:

  1. Album of the year: Udo Lindenberg “Stronger than time”
  2. Hit of the Year: Drake feat. WizKid and Kyla “One Dance”
  3. National Pop Artist: Udo Lindenberg “Stronger than Time”
  4. National Pop Artist: Ina Müller “I am the one”
  5. National Pop Band: AnnenMayKantereit “Alles Nix Konkretes”
  6. Schlager: Andrea Berg “Soul Quake”
  7. Folk Music: Andreas Gabalier “MTV Unplugged”
  8. Hip-Hop / Urban National: Beginner “Advanced Chemistry”
  9. Dance National: All colors “Music is my best friend”
  10. Rock National: Broilers “(sic!)”
  11. International Artist: Rag’n’Bone Man “Human”
  12. International artist: Sia “This Is Acting”
  13. Band International: Metallica “Hardwired… To Self-Destruct”
  14. Newcomer National: AnnenMayKantereit “Everything Nix Concrete”
  15. Newcomer International: Rag’n’Bone Man “Human”
  16. National producer: Herbig / Menzel / Seifert “Stronger than time” / Udo Lindenberg
  17. Best National Video: “Bitch Von Wegen Lisbeth / Sophie Lakow / Doz Zschäbitz
  18. National Critics Award: Beginner “Advanced Chemistry”
  19. Life’s Work: Marius Müller-Westernhagen
  20. Partner of the Year: Popakademie Baden-Württemberg
  21. Business Partner of the Year: Dussmann das KulturKaufhaus, Music Department
  22. Social commitment: Viva con Agua
  23. Special Prize: Nordoff / Robbins Music Therapy

Image sources: VOX, VOX / Jörg Carstensen (2)